Hull Elevator 

I was able to get in some oil painting practice using my homemade pochade box on location on June 10, 2017.  

I found a great spot in the shade and painted this scene of some grain elevators in Hull, Illinois. I’m not real thrilled with the finished oil sketch, but it was good practice. I recently modified my homemade cigar box pochade with a T-nut so I could mount it to a camera tripod. My first attempt at this modification failed, but I was able to rework it. The new fitting worked like a charm. 

A nearby resident stopped by to see what I was doing. I had a nice conversation with him, and he even brought me a cold Pepsi to drink. Rural America at its best! 

All-in-all, an enjoyable day of painting and watching trains pass by! 

Tom Conboy 

Leave a Reply

